House Select Committee on Opioids and Substance Use

Source: | October 27th, 2017

Speaker Straus created a Select Committee on Opioids and Substance Abuse which was included in his Interim Committee Charges. This Select committee will study the prevalence and impact of substance abuse and substance use disorders in the state. “Two years ago, we formed the Committee on Mental Health to look at behavioral health and substance abuse issues, and this new committee will continue some of that work,” Speaker Straus said. Rep. Four Price (Amarillo) has been tapped by the Speaker to chair and Rep. Joe Moody (El Paso) will serve as Vice Chairman. “Addressing the growing problems of substance abuse and opioid addictions would have a positive impact across the state by reducing the burden on the health care and criminal justice systems, Price said. “It’s an issue that Texans everywhere are dealing with”. ASAP worked well with Chairman Price and his office over the past biennium on the Behavioral Health Select Committee and legislation that was introduced from the committee’s findings. For his outstanding leadership directing that committee and passing significant legislation, particularly HB 10 to enforce parity, ASAP was honored to select him as a 2017 Lone Star Award recipient. We are excited to work with him again and look forward to similar positive results from the committee’s work.  he committee members are:


Carol Avarado  (Houston)
Garnet Coleman (Houston)
Jay Dean (Longview)
Ina Minjarez (San Antonio)
Andy Murr (Junction)
Poncho Nevarez (Eagle Pass)
Kevin Roberts (Houston)
Toni Rose (Dallas)
J.D. Sheffield (Gatesville)
Gary VanDeaver (New Boston)
James White (Hillister)